Governor Bryant Issues Volunteer Week Proclamation, 2014 GIVE Awardees Announced

By in About MCVS, give, news, volunteer management, volunteers Comments Off on Governor Bryant Issues Volunteer Week Proclamation, 2014 GIVE Awardees Announced

Starkville’s Pinks Dudley Honored with the Marsha Meeks Kelly Award for Lifetime Achievement in Volunteer Service

Governor Phil Bryant signed a proclamation designating April 6-12 as Volunteer Week, recognizing the energy and power volunteers evoke on a daily basis. Volunteer Week is held in conjunction with National Volunteer Week. Established in 1974, National Volunteer Week celebrates “people in action” who dedicate themselves to taking action and solving problems in their communities.

Volunteer Mississippi, in coordination with the Office of the Governor and First Lady Deborah Bryant, Honorary Chair of the Volunteer Mississippi Board of Commissioners, is pleased to announce the 2014 Governor’s Initiative for Volunteer Excellence (GIVE) Award honorees. Awards will be presented to outstanding volunteer recipients at a special luncheon ceremony to be held April 14, 2014 at the Mississippi Museum of Art.

Pinks Dudley, Starkville
The Marsha Meeks Kelly Award for Lifetime Achievement in Volunteer Service

Lawrence R. Abramson, Olive Branch
Outstanding Service in Public Safety

Catherine Buffington, Starkville
Outstanding Volunteer Leadership by a Youth

Al Collins, Saucier
Outstanding Service by a National Service Participant

Charles Dwyer, Senatobia
Outstanding Achievement in Disabilities Service

Lynda Favre, Gulfport
Outstanding Humanitarian Service

Jeff Good, Jackson
Outstanding Community Support by a Business Owner

Judie Granderson Holmes, Columbus
Outstanding Service to Veterans & Military Families

JoAn Niceley, Long Beach
Outstanding Service in the Promotion of Healing

John W. Pace, Magee/Flowood
Outstanding Achievement in Community Building Initiatives

Lindsey M. Pellittieri, Hattiesburg
Outstanding Service by a College Student

Cynthia Minton Walker, Gulfport
Outstanding Achievement in Education Initiatives

Springhill Historic Memorial Gardens, Hernando
Outstanding Community Collaboration Initiative

 St. Vincent de Paul Society – Our Lady of Fatima Conference, Biloxi
Outstanding Nonprofit Volunteer Outreach

Shaw Pit Bull Rescue, Columbus
Outstanding Achievement by a Grassroots Volunteer Initiative

Response this year was tremendous, with 75 nominations from around the state. Additionally, twelve Distinguished Honorable Mentions were acknowledged by the Awards Committee:

Michele Anderson

Virginia Lee Cora

Martha Huckins

Renee Lee

Bruce Mathes

Allen McBroom

Anthony McIntyre

Matthew Monroe

Mayor Steve Rosenthal

Roberta Weeks

Junior Auxiliary of Rankin County “Caring Friends” Volunteers

Lauderdale County Retired Senior Volunteer Program

These exemplary volunteers are the backbone of our Great State, and embody what First Lady Deborah Bryant calls the true “Spirit of Mississippi,” the reality that a diverse group of people can overcome differences and join together in common purpose to meet critical needs throughout the state.


Post navigation